About me….

me

I have been in the beauty industry for almost 6 years now. My background prior to that was in accounting and human resources.  I made the leap from the corporate world back when the economy was taking a dive and my position with my company was fragile as they were making heavy cut backs. I hated going to work everyday thinking “today could be the day I lose my job”.  I was recently divorced with two small children, it was probably one of the most stressful times of my life. So on my 35th birthday I said “happy birthday to me and I quit”!  Best birthday ever!

In the months that followed I enrolled in cosmetology school and started my journey in the beauty industry!  I took full advantage of my time in cosmetology school.  I took every advanced education class I could, entered contests, went to shows and externed.  I was thrilled about my new career and the possibilities it held for me and my family.

It would be super amazing to tell you that my decision has lead to an amazing career that is flourishing but I am not here to sugar coat this for you! I have a great career that is continuously growing (not always at the rate I would like but growing none the less) but I am still working hard at it.  It’s not a well-oiled machine running it’s self yet.  So I am here to tell you about my mistakes so you don’t have to make them yourself, to share with you what has worked so you don’t have to work so hard and to grow with you.  And for those of you not in the beauty industry but here for beauty tips, I will share what I found that works and doesn’t work! I don’t and will never hoard knowledge!

I am curious, stubborn and hard-headed, while this may seem unappealing to some, it is great for you!  Why?  Because there is not much I haven’t tried and won’t try in order to get results, to improve and to grow.  You can reap the benefits without the consequences so to speak. Also, with a career history in the business world I sometimes see things differently then other beauty professionals.  I have worked with other stylist and skin care professionals that do great work but struggle to make ends meet because they don’t understand the business side to this industry. That is the purpose of my blog….I give out advice all the time (I know that sounds a little pretentious) and not because I think I know it all but because most likely I have tried it and know the outcome.

Leave a Reply

